Gorilla Glue Girl- A Quarantine Perspective

Erica Davis
3 min readFeb 9, 2021

--

Ok so many of you all are familiar with Tessica Brown, known as Gorilla Glue girl. To make a long story short, basically Tessica Brown ran out of her usual hair product, Got2B Glued Spray, that she uses to slick down her edges. Instead, she used Gorilla spray, which most of you know is an adhesive- a very STRONG adhesive used for industrial projects, not hair projects. I don’t need to go into detail about the results because you already know how it played out; and if you don’t know, well, her hair has been slicked down to her head for a month now.

One would think that she should know the difference; however as many have pointed out, there is a hair product called Gorilla Snot gel. Gorilla Snot gel is a holding gel for your hair, and that may have been what she confused it with- or maybe we’re all trying to give her the benefit of the doubt.

Although I am tracking this story because for some reason, I am invested in this. I actually feel for her and I really do wish her well. I’m not here to give updates on this story because there are plenty of articles on that. I am here to give you a fresh new perspective on why this could have happened.

ISOLATION INDUCED?

Now I may be going out a limb with this perspective; in fact, I’m quite possibly reaching with what I’m about to reveal. However, maybe she hesitated on going out to get her trusted hair product because of the quarantine lockdowns and she wanted to try what she thought was a substitution. Now hear me out first- I live in Los Angeles, which is the epicenter of this awful virus. I barely go out and when I do, it is only for necessity items. I have also been experiencing with substitutions for food products and hair products because I do not feel it is necessary to go out and obtain my trusty main product. The only difference here is that I actually research what I need to substitute or DIY, and yes, a little Google search would have saved this lady some hair follicles. However, I can relate to experimenting with what I already have in the house for the simple reason of limiting my contact with others in the outside world- thanks COVID!

In fact, I feel like hair experimentations are on the rise because salons are not open or not open at full capacity leaving many people to become their own stylist whether it’s bleaching your own hair, cutting your own hair, etc. Now I know Tessica’s story is on a different spectrum, but there is a little bit of relatability if you really, I mean really, think about it. Before March 2020, I was freely living my life which included hopping in my car and going up the street to get whatever I needed when I ran out. Now I have to question if that 5 minute trip to the store is worth it and if I can live without said product and just find a substitution or DIY whatever I need.

Again, I’m probably reaching and feel free to tell me if I am. I would love to hear your opinion on this, and I honestly do hope Tessica recovers from this. Quarantine has people doing the unfathomable!

--

--